Hall of Fame

2017 Hall of Fame Legend

Jason Dunstall was a one-time soccer player, rugby player and cricketer at school, Brisbane-born Dunstall emerged from this unlikely sporting background to storm onto the AFL scene with Coorparoo in the old Queensland Australian Football League in 1984.

At 18 he was blessed with strong hands, a lightning quick lead, a devastatingly reliable kick and competitiveness and unselfishness that even then was second to none. And he never lost any of it.

He represented Queensland after a handful of senior games in ‘84, led the competition in goal-kicking, and kicked seven goals in a grand final win, then was snapped up by Hawthorn, playing in the AFL grand final 12 months later, and over 14 years from 1985-98 he played 269 games and kicked 1254 goals – third most all-time behind Tony Lockett and Gordon Coventry.

He was a four-time premiership player, three-time Coleman Medallist as the League’s leading goal-kicker and six times kicked 100 goals in a season – a feat matched only by Lockett.

Winner of the AFL Player’s Association Player of the Year in 1992, he was four times All-Australian, four time Hawthorn best & fairest, and Hawthorn leading goal-kicker 12 times.

Four times in six years from 1988-92 he finished top three in the Brownlow Medal, and in 1992 kicked 17 goals in a game – a feat bettered only once in AFL history.

Hawthorn captain for four years, he was Queensland’s first inductee to the AFL Hall of Fame in 2002 after being chosen in the Hawthorn Team of the Century in 2001 and before he was named vice-captain of the Queensland Team of the Century in 2003.

He joined the Hawthorn Hall of Fame in 2005, and was elevated to Legend status in 2014.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

Olympians Duncan Free from rowing & swimming's Jessicah Schipper, together with triathlete Miles Stewart, along with world water ski champion Emma Sheers, were inducted into the 2017 Hall of Fame.

AFL champion goal kicker of the 1980’s and 1990’s in Hawthorn great Jason Dunstall was elevated to Legend status.

2016 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

The Queensland Sport Hall of Fame welcomed new inductees in AFL’s Simon Black, rugby league’s John McDonald, swimming’s Stephanie Rice and triathlon’s Emma Snowsill, as was former Queensland and Australian rugby union centre Tim Horan who was elevated to Legend status as the 16th Legend of Queensland Sport.

2016 Hall of Fame Legend

Born in Sydney but raised in Toowoomba, he was a specialist No.12 with electrifying pace who could do it all. Rock-solid in defence and lethal with ball in hand, he could read the play like a book and was a fierce competitor.

He made his international debut as a teenager against New Zealand in 1989 even before he played for Queensland in 1990, and in his first Test impressed legendary All Black Joe Stanley so much that Stanley gave him his jumper.

In a career that spanned 12 years at the elite level Horan played 119 times for Queensland, and captained his State in 1996-97. He played 100 times for Australia, including 80 Test matches, and scored 40 Test tries.

He played in three World Cups in 1991-95-99 for wins in ’91 and ’99.
He was Inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in 2006 and the World Rugby and Australian Rugby Hall of Fame in 2015 & is the 16th Legend in the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame.

2015 Hall of Fame Legend

Vicki Wilson OAM is one of the greatest netballers Australia has produced. She played a record 104 Test matches for Australia over 15 years and captained her country for four years. She played in a record four World Championships, winning the coveted title three times, and was captain of the world championship-winning team in her final game in 1999.
Along the way, too, she had further etched her name into the record books when she captained the Australian team that won the first Commonwealth Games netball gold medal in Kuala Lumpur in 1998.

2015 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

The Queensland Sport Hall of Fame welcomed new inductees in AFL’s Jason Akermanis, rugby union’s the late Eddie Bonis, sports historian and author the late Professor Max Howell and cycling Paralympian Chris Scott, as was former Queensland and Australian netball great Vicki Wilson who was elevated to Legend status as the 15th Legend of Queensland Sport.

2014 Hall of Fame Legend

Dr David Theile AO became the 14th Legend inducted into the Queensland Sporting Hall of Fame on 1 December, 2014. In his remarkable career he remains the only Australian backstroker to win an individual Olympic gold, and he did it twice, in Melbourne in 1956 and in Rome in 1960.

2014 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

New Queensland Sport Hall of Fame inductees beach volleyballer Natalie Cook OAM, swimmer Leisel Jones OAM, cricketer Matthew Hayden AM and rugby league’s Darren Lockyer were present for their induction, as was Dr David Theile AO, who was elevated to Legend status as the 14th Legend of Queensland Sport.

2013 Hall of Fame Legend

Cricketing great, Greg Chappell was elevated as the 13th Legend of Queensland Sport at the 2013 Queensland Sport Awards /Hall of Fame presentation on 2 December.

2013 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

Cricket, rugby league and softball featured in the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame inductions via the elevation of former Queensland and Australian cricket captain Greg Chappell to Legend status and the induction of Chinchilla’s former Brisbane Brothers, Queensland and Australian five-eighth John Gleeson and Queensland and Australian Olympian softballer Tanya Harding.

Women in sport stalwart Daphne Pirie and boxer the late Ron Richards also were inducted into the now 170 strong Hall of Fame membership.

2012 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

Olympic gold medalists cyclist Sara Carrigan, swimmer Jodie Henry, hockey’s Nikki Hudson, together with footballers the late Graham Cooke (rugby union), the late Jim Craig (rugby league) and former Socceroo Craig Moore were inducted on 6 December, 2012 at a gala dinner at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. The late, great rugby league forward Arthur Beetson was elevated as the 12th Legend of Queensland Sport joining the 1st X1 Legends installed in 2011.

2010 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame inductees

Ten inductees were inducted into the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame on Monday 6 December in the Plaza Ballroom of the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre.

2009 Queensland Sport Hall of Fame inductees

The 15th Annual Queensland Sport Awards Presentation was held on Friday 4 December in the Great Hall of the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and included as a special feature, the induction of the inaugural 150 into the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame.

© 2018 QSport
Web design ToadShow