The youngest and only the third Australian to hold the world number one golf ranking in Jason Day is The Courier-Mail Channel 7 Queensland Sport Star of the Year Award winner for 2015, announced at tonight’s 21st Annual Queensland Sport Awards / Hall of Fame Presentation in Brisbane.

A near 800 strong black tie audience at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre heard the announcement of Day’s win at the end of a night which saw 10 Awards presented for Queensland’s top on and off field sporting performances in the period October, 2014 to September, 2015 and three further Service to Sport Awards presented for outstanding service.

Day was represented by his mother Dening at the presentation which saw the 2015 US PGA champion see off a star studded line up of 11 other contenders.

Young Brisbane world girls swimming champion backstroker Minna Atherton won the Coca Cola Channel 7 Queensland Junior Sport Star Award while the winner of The Courier-Mail McDonald’s Queensland Athlete with a Disability Award went to world champion freestyle S9 swimmer Brenden Hall for the third time, placing him in very select company with other triple Award category winners such as Susie O’Neill and coaches Wayne Bennett and Leigh Matthews.

Netball coach Roselee Jencke was named the Queensland Government sponsored Queensland Sport Coach of the Year Award winner for her coaching of the Queensland Firebirds to the 2015 ANZ TransTasman Championship while the North Queensland Cowboys took out the XXXX sponsored Queensland Sport Team of the Year Award for annexing the 2015 NRL Premiership in their 20th year in the world’s top rugby league club competition.

John Bright (softball), Trevor Dowdell (gymnastics) and 93 year old Gympie sporting identity James Geiger were the three QSport Service to Sport Award recipients.

The Queensland Sport Hall of Fame welcomed new inductees in AFL’s Jason Akermanis, rugby union’s the late Eddie Bonis, sports historian and author the late Professor Max Howell and cycling Paralympian Chris Scott, as was former Queensland and Australian netball great Vicki Wilson who was elevated to Legend status as the 15th Legend of Queensland Sport.

ICC international cricket umpire Bruce Oxenford was named Konica Minolta Queensland Sport Officiator category winner while Basketball Queensland CEO Graham Burns was the Arthur J Gallagher Queensland Sport Administrator of the Year.

Netball’s Queensland 17 and Under national championship winners won the Queensland Government sponsored Queensland Junior Sport Team of the Year Award and the ANZ Trans Tasman Netball Championship Grand Final took out the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre Queensland Sport Event of the Year Award.

The Queensland Sport Awards are conducted each year by QSport as the industry peak body of sport in Queensland which also coordinates the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame.

QSport’s principal financial supporter is the Queensland Government while Channel 7 and The Courier-Mail also are major sponsors of the Awards and the Hall of Fame.

For further information, contact QSport CEO Peter Cummiskey on 3369 8955 / 0418 185 008 / admin@qsport.org.au or go to www.qsport.org.au

© 2016 QSport
Web design ToadShow