Queensland Sport Awards Finalists announced

Published Wed 30 Oct 2019

Across 11 categories, this year`s finalists comprise of outstanding Queensland athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and administrators from a broad cross section of the Queensland Sport sector, with successes both within Queensland, Australia and overseas.

The winners will be announced at the Queensland Sport Awards and Hall of Fame Ceremony, to be held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday, 30 November.


The Queensland Government Queensland Service to Sport Awards WINNERS

  • Les Fraser - Polocrosse
  • Audrey McLaughlin - Softball
  • Carolyn Ribone - Croquet

The Gallagher Administrator of the Year Award

  • Catherine Clark - Netball
  • Paul Gonzalez - Baseball
  • Leesa Murray - Equestrian
  • Danielle Smith - Netball
  • Greg Swann - AFL

The LGAQ Queensland Coach of the Year Award

  • Dean Boxall - Swimming
  • Chris Fagan - AFL
  • Warren Moon - Football
  • David Nilsson - Baseball
  • Noeline Taura - Netball
  • Kurt Wilson - Surf Life Saving

The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre Queensland Event of the Year Award

  • Adina Polocrosse World Cup Tournament
  • Aquis Champions Equestrian Tournament
  • Australian Baseball League Championship Final
  • Brisbane International Tennis Tournament
  • Fed Cup Tennis Semi-Final - Australia v Belarus
  • Oceania Cup Hockey Tournament

The Konica Minolta Queensland Officiator of the Year Award

  • Chris Beath - Football
  • Paul Effeney - Sailing
  • Rebecca Green - Taekwondo
  • Paul Langton - Little Athletics
  • Belinda Sharpe - Rugby League

The Brisbane City Council Queensland Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Morty Douglass - Tenpin Bowling
  • Dave Field - Touch Football
  • Robyn Fraser - Polocrosse
  • Barbara Knowles - Hockey
  • Melissa Locke - Taekwondo
  • Taylah Pringle - AFL
  • Darren Werder - Cricket

The Queensland Government Queensland Junior Team of the Year Award

  • Australian U19 Men's White Water Rafting Team
  • Queensland U18 Girls Hockey Team
  • Queensland U17 Boys Softball Team
  • Queensland Schools' Tennis Team
  • Queensland Junior Swimming Team

The Courier Mail / Channel 7 Queensland Junior Sport Star of the Year Award

  • Matilda Alexandersson - Table Tennis
  • Molly Choyce - Endurance Riding
  • Liam Hart - Hockey
  • Oscar Miers - Little Athletics
  • Rebecca Murray - Taekwondo
  • Lani Pallister - Swimming and Surf Life Saving
  • Cassie Porter - Golf

The McDonalds Queensland Athlete with a Disability Award

  • Jake Fehlberg - Bowls
  • Curtis McGrath - Canoeing
  • Chelseann Osborne - Sailing
  • Lakeisha Patterson - Swimming
  • Janine Watson - Taekwondo

The XXXX Queensland Team of the Year Award

  • Brisbane Bandits Baseball Team
  • Brisbane Broncos NRL Women's Team
  • Brisbane Heat WBBL Cricket Team
  • Brisbane Lions NEAFL Team
  • Lions Football Club NPL Team
  • Mammoth Ultimate Team
  • Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Open Female Surf Crew
  • Sunshine Coast Lightning Netball Team

The Queensland Government Queensland Academy of Sport Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence Award

  • Mat Belcher and Will Ryan - Sailing
  • Alyssa Bull - Canoeing
  • Curtis McGrath - Para Canoeing
  • Simon Patmore - Para Snowboarding
  • Lakeisha Patterson - Para Swimming
  • Ariarne Titmus - Swimming
  • Jake Whetton - Hockey

The Queensland Sport Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Jules Guerassimoff - Rugby Union
  • Kelvin Kerkow - Bowls
  • Angie Lambert - Hockey
  • Libby Trickett - Swimming

The Queensland Sporting community is invited to the 25th Annual Queensland Sport Awards for the announcement of this year`s winners. Four icons of Queensland sport will also be inducted into the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame and one icon will be elavated to Legend status.

Tickets are on sale for just $190 per person. To secure your tickets, head to the 2019 Queensland Sport Awards online booking form.

Please contact QSport on 07  3369 8955 or admin@qsport.org.au